WHAT ARE THE MANDATORY CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS IN FLORIDA?
The state of Florida requires every vehicle with four or more wheels maintain Florida Auto Insurance coverage. When you register your vehicle you must have proof of Florida coverage. The minimum requirement is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL).
It is important to note that Florida does not require drivers to carry Bodily Injury Coverage. It can be required if you have been convicted of an offense such as a DUI.
What does this mean?
To break it down,
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits are paid by your own insurance company regardless of who was at fault in the accident. PIP pays for 80% of your medical bills and 60% of your lost wages up to $10,000. This money goes directly to your medical providers not you.
Bodily Injury Liability Coverage
Bodily injury coverage is not required in the state of Florida to operate a vehicle, UNLESS you have been convicted of a DUI, as per Florida Statute 324.023.
I recommend adding Bodily Injury Coverage to your insurance policy because it protects you to a certain extent should the not at fault driver you hit, choose go after your assets personally in a civil lawsuit to compensate for their damages.
Please be advised of The Florida Financial Responsibility Law requires that any person at fault in a crash resulting in bodily injury and property damage to others must have in effect at the time of the crash full liability insurance coverage. This coverage includes minimum limits of bodily injury liability of $10,000 per person, $20,000 per crash, $10,000 property damage liability per crash, and personal injury protection limits of $10,000 per person per crash.
UNINSURED OR UNDERINSURED MOTORIST COVERAGE
- YOU MUST ADD THIS COVERAGE TO YOUR CAR INSURANCE POLICY in the event you get hit by an uninsured (no coverage) or underinsured (not enough coverage) driver.
UM Coverage will protect and compensate yourself, or any family member, if hit by a vehicle when acting as a pedestrian, riding a bike, or any event where another driver hits you with their vehicle.
Insurance carriers do not want you to have this and will not mention the importance of this coverage, so do not be a tricked and leave it off of your insurance policy.
“YOU MAY THINK YOU HAVE FULL COVERAGE…. BUT THERE IS NO EXACT DEFINITION, YOU NEED UM COVERAGE TO TRULY HAVE FULL COVERAGE”
THIS ARTICLE SIMPLY EXPOSES YOU TO THE TIP OF THE ICE BERG INFORMATION REGARDING THE BASICS OF CAR INSURANCE THAT YOU NEED TO KNOW. FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED ATTORNEYS.
CALL TOLL FREE: 844-9-HANDLE (844-942-6353)
Bijoux Law Firm
110 SE 6th Street Suite 1700
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Office Phone: (954) 363-0320 Ext. 9033